Faculty Senate Sabbatical Leave Policies and Procedures

All Sabbatical Leave policy and procedures as outlined on this page have been reviewed and approved for FY 2023. Please refer to the previous policy and procedures for all sabbatical applications approved prior to FY 2023.


The Truckee Meadows Community College Sabbatical Leave Program affords a faculty member (as defined by the NSHE Code) the opportunity to extend their professional activities, growth, and development in the College in support of TMCC’s philosophy, purpose, and objectives. The major purpose of sabbatical leave is to have intentional time away from their primary responsibilities, and through their project, to create a space for rest, invigoration, and renewed intellectual achievement in order to enhance their effectiveness. 

Faculty members on sabbatical leave are expected to undertake a project or other program of study that furthers their scholarship or skills within their field or discipline, enhances their work experience, or contributes to curriculum or program development. Opportunities for additional training for improving skills and for maintaining currency in the field are also purposes of sabbatical leave. 


  1. Any tenured faculty member who has served full time for six or more years at TMCC without a sabbatical leave is eligible to apply for sabbatical leave.
  2. Eligibility for sabbatical leave commences at the end of the semester in which the sixth full year of service at TMCC is completed. A faculty member can apply during their sixth year of service at TMCC.
  3. Accumulation of time at TMCC toward the next sabbatical leave shall not begin until the date of completion of the prior sabbatical leave.
  4. A faculty member who has resigned or has been terminated for reasons other than financial emergency or curricular reasons, and subsequently rehired at TMCC must have six full-time years of service from the time of rehiring.
  5. Authorized leaves (teaching, formal education, work experience, personal, medical/emergency/maternal) will not break the continuity of service, but these years shall not be credited toward a sabbatical leave.
  6. Any faculty member whose primary responsibility is administrative in nature is not eligible for sabbatical leave (BOR Handbook, Title 4, Chapter 3, Section 11.1).
  7. Years spent in administrative work (defined as 51% of work time on administrative duties for that year) will not be credited toward sabbatical leave effective July 1, 1994.
  8. Only years of service at TMCC will count toward sabbatical leave.
  9. Short-term temporary contract supplements for special services, such as those for teaching Summer Session, shall not be considered in establishing the base for sabbatical leave nor for years of service at TMCC.
  10. Years spent as department chair will be credited toward sabbatical leave.
  11. Letters of support cannot be from current sabbatical chair or committee members.
  12. Per Article 8 of the NFA Contract, "An individual on a leave of absence may become a candidate for Department Chair, but only if they are scheduled to return from the leave in time to assume the Department Chair’s duties at the beginning of the Department Chair’s term. Department Chairs may not request leave from their Department Chair position to accept a sabbatical."