TMCC is currently offering in-person classes and services. Masks are required for all individuals, in all public spaces and classrooms, regardless of vaccination status. For more information, visit


Planning Council


The Planning Council (PC) serves as a representative internal shared governance team for the College’s planning efforts. The Planning Council:  

  1. Develops and reviews the TMCC Strategic Master Plan (SMP) to establish planning priorities for the college. 
  2. Monitors and reviews the work of subcommittees that support the Council’s planning activities.  
  3. Adopts policy for the college through a process of seeking input from constituencies on proposed institutional bylaw and policy changes.   

Planning Council members are responsible to share information from the Council to their constituents and to solicit input from their constituents to share with the Planning Council. Planning Council members are encouraged to help set the agenda of the meetings so that concerns and needs related to planning are discussed and addressed. 

Planning Council Charge


  • Establish long-term planning priorities for the College on a bi-annual basis and align these priorities with the TMCC SMP, the TMCC Division and Department Plans, and the NSHE Goals. 
  • Review internal and external data; College, state, federal, and NSHE initiatives; and planning documents from within the College community to make recommendations for bi-annual institutional priorities based on this input. 
  • Assist in identifying gaps between aspirational targets and actual measures to help drive short and long-term priorities. 
  • Review and respond to the stated goals of the Board of Regents and the President when formulating the priorities and planning activities of the College. 
  • Assist by building a shared, college-wide understanding of the TMCC SMP so that the SMP is a “living” strategy map and internal assessment tool that sustains a culture of excellence and continuous quality improvement. 

Subcommittee Work 

  • Oversee a subcommittee structure to accomplish specific planning tasks or gather input.  
  • Monitor and review the work of subcommittees through status reports from the committee leaders. 
  • Where appropriate, monitor the implementation of committee recommendations and use data to verify goal achievement or a lack thereof. Institutional Policy and Bylaws 
  • Review, change and adopt institutional policies and bylaws using a process that ensures input from a variety of constituencies that widely represent the college. 
  • Engage in periodic review and revision of existing policies and bylaws to maintain alignment with current NSHE and institution practices and requirements. 
  • Identify areas and opportunities where new policies should be implemented and, where appropriate, existing policies can be removed/retired. 
  • Engage in comprehensive review of proposed policies, ensuring that appropriate constituencies have opportunities to provide input prior to adoption.    

Stay Informed

Join the TMCC Planning Council Listserv (PLANNINGCOUNCIL-L) to be informed of important initiatives, policies and procedures.


The PC membership represents both constituent groups and functional areas.

Constituent Members

  • YeVonne Allen, Program Director, Equity and Inclusion; Faculty Senate Chair
  • Virginia Irintcheva, Professor, Biology; Faculty Senate Chair Elect
  • Julia Bledsoe, Program Officer 1, Assessment and Planning; Classified Council President
  • Alyssa Fromelius, Student Government Association President
  • Darian Richards, Student Government Association Vice President
  • Maggie Dostal, Student Government Association Senator
  • Cheryl Cardoza, Professor, English; Nevada Faculty Alliance Representative
  • Gwendolyn Clancy, Instructor, Part Time Faculty Representative
  • Adine Stormoen, Specialist, Veterans Upward Bound; Diversity Committee Co-Chair
  • Hieu Do, Chair, Mathematics
  • Kofi Poku, Instructor, Management
  • Heather Haddox, Instructor, EPY

Standing/Functional Members

  • Dr. Karin Hilgersom, President; Planning Council Chair
  • Dr. Dana Ryan, Special Assistant to the President
  • Dr. Marie Murgolo, Vice President of Academic Affairs
  • Estela Gutierrez, Vice President of Student Services and Diversity
  • Elena Bubnova, Associate Vice President of Research, Marketing and Web Services
  • Dr. Julie Ellsworth, Dean, Sciences Division
  • Dr. Paul Allen, Dean, Liberal Arts Division
  • Barbara Walden, Interim Dean, Technical Sciences Division
  • Dr. Joan Steinman, Executive Director, Retention Support
  • Dr. Tina Ruff, Director, Athletics
  • Amy Williams, Dean, Business Division
  • Brandy Scarnati, Learning Commons
  • Thomas Dobbert, Director, Information Technology
  • Dr. Natalie Brown, Director, Advisement and Transfer Center
  • Dr. Melissa Deadmond, Associate Dean of Planning and Assessment
  • Dr. Ayodele Akinola, Interim Executive Director of Facilities Operations and Capital Planning
  • John Albrecht, Legal Counsel
  • Kim Studebaker, Interim Director, Human Resources
  • Elise Bunkowski, Interim Executive Director of Budget and Planning
  • Anne Flesher, Interim Dean of Math and Physical Sciences Division

Standing Subcommittees and Task Forces

Subcommittees and/or task forces will be formed on an as-needed based on College-wide needs.

Members of the Planning Council will be on each standing subcommittee with broad institutional representation filling out the membership. Standing subcommittees will provide regular status reports to the Planning Council on progress. (Note that charges for each standing committee still need to be designed.)

Planning Council Standing Subcommittees

Planning Council Meetings

The Council meets on Mondays from 9–11 a.m. via ZOOM video conferencing, unless otherwise noted.

  • August 31
  • September 21
  • October 19
  • November 16
  • December 21 (Canceled)
  • January 11
  • February 22
  • March 15
  • April 19 (9 a.m.–Noon)
  • May 10 (9 a.m.–Noon)

Process for Submitting Agenda Items

Please contact the President's Executive Assistant, no later than two weeks prior to the meeting date. Please include any reference material or supporting documentation with your request.