BArch Accreditation Information

In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year term, an eight-year term with conditions, or a two-year term of continuing accreditation, or a three-year term of initial accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a non-accredited undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the non-accredited degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

TMCC Bachelor of Architecture

150 Semester Credit Hours

Truckee Meadows Community College is applying for initial candidacy with the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB).

Projected Accreditation Timeline

  • Projected Accreditation Timeline (dates are tentative and represent TMCC’s plan for achieving initial accreditation):
    • Initial Candidacy: Jan. 1, 2023 (effective date)
    • Continuation of Candidacy: Jan. 1, 2025 (effective date)
    • Initial Accreditation: Jan. 1, 2027 (effective date)

Accreditation Reports and Related Documents