Past Alumni of the Year

Since 1998, TMCC has recognized and honored an outstanding alumna/alumnus at the College’s commencement ceremony. From city government, to hospitals, and even Hollywood, TMCC’s past Alumni of the Year award recipients continue to positively impact their communities, reflecting the strength and diversity of a TMCC education.

2024 Alumna of the Year

Edith Duarte Photo

Edith Duarte's journey is one of relentless ambition and dedication to education and public service. After graduating from Truckee Meadows Community College, Edith continued her academic pursuits at the University of Nevada, Reno, earning a degree in International Affairs. She then embarked on the path of entrepreneurship, founding her own Government Affairs firm, Horne Duarte Government and Public Affairs, while simultaneously pursuing a Master's in Public Administration from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

Edith's achievements reflect her passion for making a difference in Nevada. She proudly serves on the Community Health Alliance Foundation Board where she can positively impact the availability of access to healthcare for underserved populations. Today, she is still in public affairs consulting where she embraces diverse representation in the legislative process and implementation.

Past Alumni of the Year

  • Courtney Meredith (2023)
  • No awards provided due to COVID (2022, 2021, 2020)
  • Windi Altmeyer (2019)
  • Christina Satterwhite (2018)
  • Abbi Whitaker (2017)
  • Deborah Osborn (2016)
  • Christopher Meredith (2015)
  • Alicia Gardner (2014)
  • Cindy Pfirman (2011)
  • Terry Ditton (2010)
  • Karen Clark (2009)
  • Cynthia Kirkland (2008)
  • Mauricio Santos (2007)
  • Marcia C. Gebhardt (2007)
  • Neoma L. Jardon (2006)
  • Myrton Running Wolf (2006)
  • Amy Hawkins (2005)
  • Shelley Atkins (2004)
  • Jill Berryman (2003)
  • Kaylene Opperman (2002)
  • Doreen Rogers (2001)
  • James G. Nelson, Jr. (2000)
  • Dennis Zarubi (2000)
  • Kathy Chapman (1999)
  • Rose Taylor (1998)