Traffic Advisory: Be advised that both the US 395 northbound exit to Parr/Dandini, and the northbound on-ramp from Parr/Dandini to US 395 are currently closed through mid-Sept. 2024. Please use detours to access Dandini Blvd. from the Parr Blvd. bridge or from Clear Acre Ln. See more information.


Honors Awarded to Student Participants in 49th Annual Art Exhibition

Woman in red swimsuit floating on top of vinyl record with drawings of flowers beside her.
Kate Kirkpatrick

TMCC welcomes its 49th Annual Student Art and Design Show exhibition, which will be on display in the TMCC Art Galleries from Wednesday, April 12 through Friday, May 5. This year, 73 participants displaying 187 artworks have been selected for inclusion in the showing.

“What is really exciting about this year’s exhibition is the quality, variety, and content of artwork put on display by our students,” said TMCC Art Galleries Curator Kyle Karrasch. “The exhibit features 2-Dimensional, 3-Dimensional, digital, painting, and photographic artwork.”

An artist reception and awards ceremony, held on April 12 in the Main Art Gallery in the V. James Eardley Student Center, featured a special presentation by juror Kris Vagner, who also spoke about what she looks for in awarding prizes. Most of the student art on display in the exhibition is also available for purchase.

“The students really benefit from this experience in getting exposure to their work by the community, having the potential to be recognized with an award for their artistic abilities, and potential sale of their artwork. TMCC also benefits by showcasing the skills our students have developed while attending classes at this institution with dedicated professors and instructors,” continued Karrasch.

Students that have received awards from the guest juror include:

Best in Show
Sam Scheideman

Curator’s Choice Award
Kelsey Bautista

2-D Artwork
Juan Soto Lopez, first place
Julianna Horvath, second place
Grace Herzog, third place

Sam Scheideman, first and second place
Melissa Sanchez Mangandi, second place

Angela Scharff, first place
BayLee Pevehouse, second place
Marianne Reger, third place

3-D Artwork
Kaitlyn Scheider, first place
Serina Fennel, second place
Seth Boggs, third place

Esmeralda Pablo-Ortiz, first place
Elric Bills, second place
Max Magnaghi, third place

Juror Kris Vagner.

Juror Kris Vagner

Juror Kris Vagner is an editor and publisher for the arts publication Double Scoop that covers art news in Nevada. After collecting an English degree in Arizona and studying art in Boston and Los Angeles, Kris settled in Tuscarora, Nevada, which has an impressive art scene for a town of 89 residents. A few years later, in 2004, she moved to Reno, began covering local arts for the Reno News & Review, and quickly realized that she wanted her writing to speak to art-world insiders and followers alike. Since then, she’s contributed to regional and national publications, arts organizations and news outlets. Kris’s reporting has earned Nevada Press Association awards for critical, entertainment, features, and sports writing.

Awards for the Student Art and Design Exhibition are funded by TMCC Art Galleries and Nevada Fine Arts.

Congratulations to all of this year’s student participants, including (in alphabetical order):

Giovanni Alvarez, Carl Christian Aquino, Austin J Arazosa, Anna Ayres, Will Barber, Kelsey Bautista, Nicolas Elric Bills, Seth Boggs, Kathryn Bowman, Juliet Burchfield, Diane Clarkson, Hunter Crossley, Gwyneth Crowe, Barbara Dayes, Jacqueline Dow, Victor Duarte, Joey Escalera, Joshua Felipe, Serina Fennell, Amanda Foster, Lyn Galindo-Cloud, Pedro M. Gómez, Sabbathiel Greene, Brayan Guerrero, Alison Harvey, Astrid Hernandez, Grace Herzog, Zandria S Hines, Stephanie Hogen, Clint Hohenstein, Julianna Emily Horvath, Stephen Johnson, Ty Kattelman, Merissa Lehr, Matthew Leue, Juan Soto Lopez, Max Magnaghi, Melissa Sanchez Mangandi, Natalia Martinez, Kirsten Mashinter, Isabella McCloskey, Hannah McKemy, Shasta Mori, Lauren Morrill, Brock O’Brien, Anjelina Ortega, Ninotchka Serpa Ortega, Esmeralda Pablo-Ortiz, Daniel Parra, BayLee Pevehouse, Linda Pinching, Alyssa Purnama, Kaylie Reed, Marianne Reger, Jaime Ramey, Isaiah Joshua Sabol, Angela Scharff, Samantha Kate Scheideman, Kaitlyn Schneider, Madison Schulze, Sophie Scott, Riley Sherman, BreeAnn St. Onge, Dionne Stevens, Kobe Stoker, William Strohschein, Vivid Void, Payton Williams.

For more information about the TMCC Art Galleries, please call 775-673-7233.