MEETING MINUTES OCT. 23, 2020

Zoom, 12-2 p.m.

Meeting called to order: 12:05 p.m.

In Attendance: Amy Cavanaugh, Dayna DeFilippis, Kristin DeMay, Kevin Dugan, Candace Garlock, Meeghan Gray, Heidi Julius, Matt Leathen (Chair), Fred Lokken, Staci Miller

Absent: Jennie Allan, Elise Bunkowski, Brian Fletcher, Heidi Himler, Phil Smilanick

Guests: Amber Anaya

Welcome

Chair Matt Leathen welcomed everyone to today's meeting.

Approval of the September 25, 2020 Minutes

Fred Lokken motioned and Amy Cavanaugh seconded the approval of the September 25, 2020 minutes. The committee approved them.

NSHE Budget Taskforce

Chair Matt Leathen reviewed the Senate Council of Chair appointees to the adhoc committee: Laura Naumann - NSC, Vicki Rosser - UNLV, Bob Morin – WNC. A 4th representative was approved for SCS / Administrative Faculty representation – Theo Meek. The first meeting will occur in mid-November and there will be more information after Chancellor Rose meets with Chair Regent Carter on the process and sequence.

Fred Lokken suggested inviting Bob Morin to update the committee once the adhoc has met. It was also suggested to have Jim New join our next meeting and update the committee on the budget process.

New Business

It was asked if more members are needed for the Sabbatical subcommittee. Both Amy Cavanaugh and Kristen DeMay volunteered last Spring. Matt will follow up with Steve Bale.

Fred had an informational item for the committee to discuss: zero-based scheduling and it was suggested this could be another topic Jim New could discuss with the committee.

Meeting Adjourned: 12:43 p.m.

Next Meeting: November 20, 2020; 12-2 p.m.