

MEETING MINUTES APR. 14, 2023

10-11:30 a.m. via Zoom

Meeting called to order: 10:03 a.m.

In attendance: Lenaya Andersen, Tom Cardoza, Marynia Giren-Navarro (Chair), Laurel Harrison, Andy Hughes, Casey Machen, Linda McGillicuddy, Jeff Olsen, Ron Marston, Kofi Poku

Absent: Kurt Ehlers, Scott Huber, Ashley Osborne, Cecilia Vigil, Karen Wikander, Itzel Woolpert

Guests: Jeffrey Alexander, Amber Anaya, Lars Jensen, Jim New

Approve Minutes from March 17, 2023

An email was sent to approve the March 17, 2023 Professional Standards Minutes. Ron Marston moved and Casey Machen seconded to approve the March 17, 2023 minutes. The committee approved the minutes.

Review of the Bylaws

Tom Cardoza and Dr. Alexander joined today's meeting to review the NFA Contract changes and where they affect the committee's charges. The committee discussed the new APRAC committee and the existing subcommittee that is formed by the Professional Standards Committee each year.

Tom Cardoza moved and Lenaya Andersen seconded to remove ", or a TMCC Performance Award Review Committee." from the PSC charges (point 6) so that it reads: "Oversee the creation of a pool of faculty to be used as members for a Special Hearing Committee (BOR Handbook, Title 2, Ch 6.11.3)." The motion passed.

The committee also approved a bylaw revision to remove the Special Hearing Committee from its charges; however, the committee is an NSHE request codified in its handbook.

Article 13.4. Step 4

Tom Cardoza provided an update to the committee on this item.

VPAA update on the rubric for evaluations

Dr. Alexander provided an update to the committee on this item.

Annual Plan / Eval Forms

The committee approved the Academic Faculty Annual Performance Evaluation form drafted by Dr. Alexander. The draft is headed to the Faculty Senate for approval.

Digital Tenure Binders

The procedure for Digital Tenure Binders is on today's Faculty Senate Agenda for approval. Once the motion is approved and routed through administration for signature, the Faculty Senate Office will work with Web Services to update the website.

Amy Cavanaugh and Karen Wikander have been nominated.

Next Meeting: May 12, 2023

Meeting adjourned: 11:30 a.m.