2012-2013 TMCC College Catalog
NorthernNevada LawEnforcement Academy
Category I Peace Officers
TMCC and the Reno Police Department, Sparks Police
Department and Washoe County Sheriff’s Office conduct the
Northern Nevada Law Enforcement Academy located at TMCC.
The academy is certified by the Nevada Peace Officer Standards
and Training (POST) Commission to provide basic police
academy training. With the successful completion of the academy
a graduate will meet all POST training standards required to be
certified as a Category I Nevada peace officer. At the conclusion
of the academy, graduates are administered the Nevada State
POST certification examination.
There are two 20-week academy sessions annually. Courses
are conducted over a 40-hour week. The academy has classroom
and practical instruction ranging from constitutional law, ethics,
search and seizure, laws of arrest, weaponless defense, firearms
and emergency vehicle operation. Graduates can earn 28 college
credits toward a criminal justice degree during this academically
and physically demanding academy. There are a limited number
of positions available for the academy with priority given to
recruits being sponsored by local law enforcement agencies.
Please also see the worksheets for criminal justice and law enforcement.
The public is admitted on a limited basis. The following
requirements must be met prior to enrollment.
• Be at least 21 years of age by the time of acceptance
• Receive acceptable scores on the ACCUPLACER test
• Receive approval from a law enforcement agency in the
state of Nevada, based on a background investigation
conducted by that agency
• Provide medical clearance, blood and drug screening
• Pass pre-academy fitness standards
• Provide proof of medical insurance
• Purchase an academy uniform, leather and fitness gear
• Purchase a Glock, Smith andWesson, Beretta or Sig-
Sauer pistol in 9mm, 10mm, .40 cal. or .45 cal. or a weapon
approved by academy staff and sponsoring agency
• Purchase ammunition (1,500 rounds) and gun, 125-round
• Be prepared to attend class Monday through Friday from
8 a.m. to 5 p.m. In addition, study time and numerous night
classes will be held.
APPROXIMATE TUITION: $2,000 registration and tuition fee
must be paid in advance. This training includes college credits,
which can be applied toward a criminal justice degree or toward
additional POST training certification.